Fortunately, the icon is not lost forever. In fact, it should take just 30 seconds or so to get it back on your desktop.

Add the My Computer Icon to the Windows 10 Desktop

The method for adding a My Computer icon to the desktop in Windows 10 is unique to the operating system.

Replacing the My Computer Shortcut on the Windows 7 or Windows 8 Desktop

When you return to the Windows 7 desktop, the My Computer icon is back in its place.

Why Did the My Computer Icon Disappear?

Beginning with Windows XP, Microsoft added a link to My Computer in the Start Menu. As a result, users had two shortcuts to access their files and folders via My Computer: one on the desktop and the other in the Start Menu. In an effort to declutter the desktop, Microsoft chose to remove the My Computer icon beginning with Microsoft Windows Vista. Along with this change, Microsoft also dropped the “My” from “My Computer,” changing it to “Computer.”