How Do I Change My Lock Screen Password?

When you first set up your iPhone, you need to create a lock screen password to unlock your iPhone through a method other than Touch ID or Face ID. However, you may choose to change it at a later date. Here’s how to change it.

How Do I Change My 4 Digit Passcode on My iPhone?

If you’d prefer to use a 4 digit passcode on your iPhone, the option is still possible but it’s a little more hidden away than it used to be. Here’s how to change it. Four digit passcodes are easy to guess, so Apple recommends you use a more complex passcode.

How Do I Change My Password on This Phone?

If you’d prefer to use a passcode made of both numbers and letters, it’s also possible to change your password to this. Here’s how to do it.

Why Can’t I Change Passwords on My iPhone? 

If you can’t change your password or passcode on your iPhone, there’s usually a fairly obvious reason. Here’s a brief look at the common reasons.

You’ve entered your password incorrectly. Tap the keys more carefully so you enter the password or passcode correctly. You’ve forgotten your password. If you can’t remember your password or passcode, you can’t change it to a different one. You’re locked out of your device. If you’ve entered the wrong passcode six times in a row, you’re locked out of your device and can only re-enter if you remember the passcode or choose to erase your iPhone via a computer.

What to Do When You’ve Forgotten Your Passcode

If you’ve forgotten your passcode, you’ll be locked out of your device after entering it incorrectly six times. The only way to regain access is to erase your iPhone with a computer or with recovery mode. Using iPhone Recovery mode is reasonably simple but it’s time-consuming and you’ll need to restore your files from a backup.