How Do I Connect My Android Phone to My Chromebook?

You can connect your devices via Bluetooth or a USB cable. If you want to see your notifications, messages, and other information about your phone on your Chromebook, you must use Bluetooth to set up Phone Hub.

How Do I Connect My Phone to My Chromebook via Bluetooth?

Follow these steps to set up Phone Hub so you can access your Android phone on your Chromebook:

Can I Connect My Phone to My Chromebook via USB?

You can quickly transfer files between your Chromebook and your Android using a USB cable, but you can’t take advantage of Phone Hub features this way. When you make the connection, select the pop-up notification on your phone to allow access to your internal storage. The Files app will open to show your phone’s internal storage. If it doesn’t appear automatically, open the Files app and select your Android’s model number in the left sidebar. From here, you can click-and-drag or copy-and-paste files between folders on both devices. If your phone has an SD card, it’ll have its own folder.

How to Use Phone Hub

Select the Phone icon in the bottom taskbar to bring up the Phone Hub. From the Phone Hub, you’ll see your Android’s signal strength and battery life as well as any Google Chrome tabs you have open. You can also enable a hotspot, silence or unmute your phone, and set up features like Notifications and Locate phone (if your device supports it). Select the Setting gear to see more features like Smart Lock, Instant Tethering, and Messages.

Why Can’t I Connect My Phone to My Chromebook?

Here are some reasons why your Chromebook won’t connect to your phone and some potential solutions:

The Bluetooth connection can’t be established. Move the devices closer together, then enable Bluetooth for both devices. Your version of Chrome OS is outdated, so you need to manually update your Chromebook. There could be a temporary technical hiccup, which can usually be fixed by restarting both devices. If connecting via USB, there could be a problem with the cable, so try a different one.