How to Turn Find My iPad On and Off

Access your iPad’s settings to enable or disable Find My iPad.

How to Use Find My iPad

A benefit to Find My iPad is that you don’t need an iPad to use it. Here’s how to use it to track a missing tablet:

What Is Find My iPad?

The Find My iPad option on the iPad is one of the most important features on the tablet. It can locate an iPad using GPS or locate an iPad that’s hiding under a couch or beneath a pillow. To locate a missing device, use an iPhone or a computer to play a sound on the iPad. Find My iPad has other features, such as Lost Mode, and you can completely erase the iPad remotely if someone steals it.

Play Sound: Plays a sound on the iPad to locate the tablet when you’re sure it’s somewhere within hearing range.Lost Mode: Locks the iPad so that nobody else can access it. You can also type a message to appear on the iPad screen. Use this option if you left the iPad and want to protect it from being used. This also tells anyone that finds it your phone number, email address, home address, or other contact information so that they can return it to you.Erase iPad: Erase the iPad when you know you will not get it back and want to clear it for security reasons. Another reason to erase an iPad is to reset it without plugging it into a computer if it keeps freezing up.

If you plan to sell your iPad or give it to a friend, turn off the Find My iPad feature and then reset the iPad to its factory default settings. Also, turn off Find My iPad before you have any repairs done to it.