The $69.99 Luna controller isn’t cheap, but it delivers rock-solid performance. It was also incredibly easy to pair with the gaming service and offers reduced latency compared to other controllers. 

Delivery to Connection in Five Minutes

After inserting the included batteries, it was just a matter of downloading the Luna game controller app for my iPad. The device instantly was detected, and I was playing seconds later. And while my controller immediately noticed my Wi-Fi connection, you can use the Luna controller via Bluetooth, as well.  After spending some time with the Luna controller, I tried using a wireless mouse and keyboard and immediately could tell the difference. Although the lag was too small to quantify, it definitely was noticeable. It also felt awkward using the small iPad screen with a full-sized mouse and keyboard setup. I also tried an Xbox Wireless controller. I prefer the more ergonomic feel to that of the Luna, but once again, there was noticeable lag compared to using the Luna over Wi-Fi.

Solid as an Xbox

I was happy to find that the Luna controller is a solid piece of gear. It resembles the classic Nintendo Switch controller design and weighs a hefty 285 grams. An experienced PlayStation gamer told me it felt wider in their hand than a PS4 controller and, in fact, was almost too big to play comfortably for long periods. But the build quality was as solid as an Xbox Wireless Controller. I have big hands and had no problem grasping the Luna controller while playing the racing game Grid. The controls had excellent feedback, and I was able to send my car spinning around the track at my maximum skill level.